Cirque Meadows by Adam Johnson




The meeting was called to order at 7:10 pm at the West Fort Collins Water District, LaPorte.


Members Present: Susanne Cordery-Cotter, Andre Duval, Nancy Grice, Mandy Kotzman, Ed Ott, Paul Resseguie, Cordelia Stone, Ed Stoner.


Staff Present: Jill Bennett - Planning Dept.

Russ Legg, - Planning Dept.


The meeting agenda was adopted

The meeting minutes from May 15, 2007 were adopted.


Communication Items:


  1. Committee Member Communications:

a.   DeVore's requests: the DeVores' original request for rezoning with allowances (see LAPAC March 20, 2007 minutes) was reportedly granted by the Commissioners pursuant to LAPAC's suggestions.

b.   Stegner Pit - compliance status is still being investigated by County Planning department personnel. Pit (active mining) may be completed in five months. North pit startup may be linked to closure of the Stegner pit. Mandy will research Stegner pit issues.

c.   Jax Thunderdome - no obvious signs of development yet.

d.   County Commissioner - Commissioner Karen Wagner was LAPAC liaison, she has resigned and the question of which commissioner would be our new liaison was raised. Our new liaison may be Karen's replacement, but could be one of the other commissioners.

e.   Thanks to Karen - a motion was made to extend a formal thank you to Karen for her service to LAPAC. Motion was seconded and passed unanimously.


  1. Jill's Communication Items:

a.   Jill had no communication items.


Personal Appearances:




Agenda Items:


  1. Election of Officers:


The positions of Chair, Vice Chair and Secretary were open for members to fill. Following discussion, members were nominated, seconded and voted upon. The officer positions were filled as follows:


Chair: Susanne Cordery-Cotter

Vice Chair: Mandy Kotzman

Secretary: Ed Ott


  1. Continue TDU Discussion:


Russ Legg conducted a continuation of the discussion of Transfer Density Units (TDUs) focusing on "sending areas" within the LaPorte area. A work session ensued. The following is a brief summary.


Sending areas:

Sending areas can be defined by a set of written criteria. If mapped they would appear as "amoeba" overlays not following property boundaries. See County's open lands plan for an example, and for the County's concept of open lands in the LaPorte area.


Sending areas may include:

River corridor (however flood plain cannot be sending area as it is already undevelopable)

Geologic hazard areas (i.e. steep slopes; tantamount to ridgelines)

Community separators (specifically East, South and West sides of LaPorte Area boundary)

Agricultural-based lands


Entryways are corridors/transition zones with features and do not lend themselves to being sending areas.


Note: this agenda item was a work session and no formal decisions or policies were adopted regarding TDUs.


Next meeting: Special Meeting on July 24th, 2007


The meeting adjourned at 9:06 p.m.

Background Image: Cirque Meadows by Adam Johnson. All rights reserved.